Andy Lawson – Artist Research

Andy Lawson is a professional photographer from Plymouth and has a relaxed approach to capturing natural images within his photography work. Andy is also the brother of my auntie’s partner who I met at his 50th birthday earlier this year. He was generous with his time in talking to me about my style of photography and positive about my edited images so far.

Andy told me that he started out in the same way as myself with his college pre-degree straight from school. He later achieved a BA First class honours degree at LGU. Sir John Cass School of Art, London Metropolitan University and went on to become a senior lecturer there. After receiving his Dfes Leanring Mentor Certificate he also became a primary school learning mentor at Calverton Primary School in East London. He completed his Masters Degree in Fine Art, drawing/ photography in 2010 at WCA University of the Arts, London and has developed and delivered educational workshops for a variety of galleries including Serpentine Gallery and St. Paul’s Art Space, London as well as having multiple exhibitions of his own work both nationally and internationally.

Andy has been living a nomadic lifestyle for the last 2 years, spending months living in France, to observe the passage of time whilst working on several long-term projects of his. He is also a reportage wedding photographer, capturing un-staged moments, giving an atmospheric emotion to his unique style. His wedding photography website is ugotthelove.com

Another genre of his that I have followed over the last few years is stadium photography, officially photographing their younger brother’s UK and world tours. Jamie Lawson has had a number one hit with ‘I wasn’t expecting that’ and has toured the world with his friend and manager, Ed Sheeran. I have included a photo Andy took of my cousin with Ed at his concert in Dublin where Jamie was supporting.

Andy’s laid back but enthusiastic personality as well as his style of photography and generosity in helping others throughout his varied career have inspired me. He has an Instagram account where you can view his photography work which I think displays his diversity as well as giving the viewer joy to look at.

Leave a comment